10 Best Magnesium Taurate Supplements of 2026 Compared

Compare elemental magnesium, serving counts, capsule shells, and added B6.

Tom Miller, CSCS
By
Tom Miller, CSCS
Tom Miller, CSCS, is a Sr. Editor & Content Strategist with 10 years of experience in Powerlifting and Personal Training. As a Certified Strength and Conditioning...
| Fact checked by Editorial Team
21 Min Read
We provide honest reviews based on a thorough, multi-point testing methodology . We do earn a commission if you purchase through our links, supporting our independent product assessments. View our disclosure for more details.
Seven branded magnesium taurate supplement packages on a gym counter
Seven magnesium taurate supplements compared in this roundup.

A bottle labeled “1,500 mg magnesium taurate” may supply only about 120 to 135 milligrams of elemental magnesium. The best choice becomes clearer when you compare the mineral amount, serving count, and extra ingredients across these ten products.

Magnesium taurate is a magnesium compound bound to taurine. Clinical evidence does not establish it as a remedy for palpitations, high blood pressure, poor sleep, or anxiety, regardless of what a product page suggests. For a supplement shopper, the useful questions are more ordinary: How much magnesium does the labeled serving actually supply? How many pills make that serving? Is the formula purely taurate or a blend with oxide or vitamin B6?

Our pick for most readers is Double Wood Magnesium Taurate. Its three-capsule serving clearly separates 1,500 milligrams of magnesium taurate from 120 milligrams of elemental magnesium, the 210-capsule bottle has 70 servings, and the company publishes batch-testing information. Swanson is the simpler two-tablet alternative; Nutricost has ten more servings at the same stated mineral amount. For a wider comparison of forms, start with our best magnesium supplements guide.

Short on time? Start with Double Wood Magnesium Taurate if you want transparent mineral math and a 70-serving bottle. It provides 120 mg elemental magnesium from 1,500 mg magnesium taurate in three capsules. Check the current Amazon listing.

Quick Comparison

Rank Product Label distinction Rating
1 Double Wood Magnesium Taurate 120 mg magnesium; 70 three-capsule servings 4.7/5
2 Swanson Magnesium Taurate 200 mg magnesium in two tablets 4.6/5
3 Nutricost Magnesium Taurate 120 mg magnesium; 80 three-capsule servings 4.5/5
4 Micro Ingredients Magnesium Taurate 180 mg magnesium in four capsules 4.3/5
5 NatureBell Magnesium Taurate 135 mg magnesium in three capsules 4.2/5
6 Cardiovascular Research Magnesium Taurate 125 mg magnesium in one capsule 4.1/5
7 BulkSupplements Magnesium Taurate Powder 150 mg magnesium; 250 g pouch; about 167 servings 4.0/5
8 BulkSupplements Magnesium Taurate Capsules 120 two-capsule servings; elemental amount not stated 3.9/5
9 Jarrow Magnesium Taurate 300 mg magnesium and 20 mg B6 in three capsules 3.7/5
10 KAL Magnesium Taurate+ 400 mg magnesium includes oxide; added B6 3.5/5

What Matters Before the Rankings

Our ratings weigh dose clarity, serving count, capsule or tablet burden, extra ingredients, and available quality information. “Magnesium taurate 1,500 mg” is the weight of the whole compound; “magnesium 120 mg (as magnesium taurate)” is the amount of the mineral. Those numbers answer different questions. The National Institutes of Health sets an adult upper limit of 350 mg daily for magnesium from supplements and medications, unless a healthcare professional recommends otherwise. That limit does not include magnesium naturally present in food.1

Get Fitter, Faster

Level Up Your Fitness: Join our 💪 strong community in Fitness Volt Newsletter. Get daily inspiration, expert-backed workouts, nutrition tips, the latest in strength sports, and the support you need to reach your goals. Subscribe for free!

The 10 Best Magnesium Taurate Supplements

1. Double Wood Magnesium Taurate – Best Overall

Double Wood Magnesium Taurate 210 Vegan Capsules

Double Wood Magnesium Taurate 210 Vegan Capsules

Best Overall
4.7/5

The clearest all-around comparison for magnesium taurate dose, bottle count, and testing transparency.

Pros

  • 120 mg elemental magnesium clearly stated
  • 210 capsules make 70 servings
  • Batch test results published by maker

Cons

  • Three capsules per serving
  • 1,500 mg front number is compound weight

Double Wood earns the top spot for doing the arithmetic on the label. Three capsules deliver 1,500 mg magnesium taurate and 120 mg elemental magnesium. The 210-count bottle therefore lasts 70 labeled servings, not 210 days. The company publishes batch-testing reports for identity, potency, contaminants, and microbes; compare the report’s lot with the bottle you receive.

That 120 mg mineral amount is lower than Swanson’s 200 mg two-tablet serving, even though Double Wood’s front number looks much larger. Choose Double Wood for the clear dose breakdown and published test information. Skip it if three capsules each day are a nuisance; Swanson uses two tablets, while Cardiovascular Research lists 125 mg per capsule.

2. Swanson Magnesium Taurate – Best Tablet

Swanson Magnesium Taurate 100 mg 120 Vegan Tablets

Swanson Magnesium Taurate 100 mg 120 Vegan Tablets

Best Tablet
4.6/5

Straightforward per-tablet magnesium math in a 60-serving bottle.

Pros

  • 100 mg magnesium per tablet
  • 200 mg in two-tablet serving
  • 120 tablets make 60 servings

Cons

  • Tablets rather than capsules
  • Larger elemental serving than Double Wood

Swanson lists 200 mg magnesium from magnesium taurinate in a two-tablet serving, which makes the per-tablet amount an easy 100 mg. Its 120-tablet bottle provides 60 servings. That is a practical format if you want to compare one tablet with a two-tablet label serving while keeping the total from other supplements in mind.

This is not a substitute for evaluating the entire day’s magnesium. Two tablets provide 80 mg more elemental magnesium than Double Wood’s three-capsule serving. Skip Swanson if you strongly prefer capsules or if a smaller mineral addition is a better fit; Double Wood and NatureBell are lower-amount labeled comparisons.

3. Nutricost Magnesium Taurate – Best 80-Serving Vegan Option

Nutricost Magnesium Taurate 1500 mg 240 Capsules

Nutricost Magnesium Taurate 1500 mg 240 Capsules

80-Serving Vegan Option
4.5/5

The same stated 120 mg mineral amount as Double Wood, with ten more servings and a vegetarian capsule shell.

Pros

  • 120 mg elemental magnesium on facts panel
  • 240 capsules make 80 servings
  • Cellulose capsules rather than gelatin

Cons

  • Three capsules per serving
  • Public lot reports less accessible than Double Wood's

Nutricost’s facts panel makes this a much cleaner comparison than its 1,500 mg front number suggests: three capsules contain 120 mg elemental magnesium. That matches Double Wood’s stated mineral amount and pill count. The 240-capsule bottle holds 80 servings, compared with Double Wood’s 70.

The capsule shell is hypromellose, so Nutricost also suits readers avoiding gelatin. The maker describes independent batch testing, although Double Wood’s public lot reports are easier to inspect. Skip Nutricost if pill count is your main concern; Swanson’s two tablets are simpler. Choose it over NatureBell if a vegetarian capsule matters more than NatureBell’s slightly higher 135 mg serving.

4. Micro Ingredients Magnesium Taurate – Best High-Count Capsule Bottle

Micro Ingredients Magnesium Taurate 2000 mg 240 Capsules

Micro Ingredients Magnesium Taurate 2000 mg 240 Capsules

High-Count Capsules
4.3/5

A large capsule count that is only a 60-serving supply at the maker's four-capsule dose.

Pros

  • 180 mg elemental magnesium disclosed
  • 240 capsules make 60 servings
  • Single featured magnesium form

Cons

  • Four capsules per serving
  • Gelatin capsule is unsuitable for vegans

Micro Ingredients states that four capsules supply 2,000 mg magnesium taurate and 180 mg elemental magnesium. The 240 capsules look like a long supply until you divide by the four-capsule serving: 60 days at the labeled use. Nutricost’s equally large bottle lasts 80 servings because its serving is three capsules.

The extra capsule brings a higher stated mineral amount than Nutricost’s 120 mg, but it also adds another pill to the routine. Skip Micro Ingredients if you want fewer pills or a vegan formula: its facts panel lists gelatin. Also do not read 2,000 mg as elemental magnesium; the maker’s mineral number is 180 mg.

5. NatureBell Magnesium Taurate – Best Moderate-Dose Bulk Bottle

NatureBell Magnesium Taurate 1500 mg 240 Capsules

NatureBell Magnesium Taurate 1500 mg 240 Capsules

Moderate-Dose Bulk Bottle
4.2/5

Eighty servings at a clearly identified 135 mg elemental amount.

Pros

  • 135 mg elemental magnesium disclosed
  • 240 capsules make 80 servings
  • Three capsules per labeled serving

Cons

  • Gelatin capsule is unsuitable for vegans
  • Three capsules per serving

NatureBell’s three-capsule serving contains 1,500 mg magnesium taurate and 135 mg elemental magnesium. Its 240-capsule bottle holds 80 full servings, ten more than Double Wood. Those are useful, direct comparisons; neither bottle is a 240-day supply at the labeled amount.

Choose NatureBell if you want 80 servings at a slightly higher stated mineral amount than Nutricost. Its gelatin capsule rules it out for vegans; Nutricost is the closer vegetarian alternative. Skip both if reducing pill count matters most: Swanson lists 100 mg per tablet.

6. Cardiovascular Research Magnesium Taurate – Best One-Capsule Label

Cardiovascular Research Magnesium Taurate 125 mg 180 Capsules

Cardiovascular Research Magnesium Taurate 125 mg 180 Capsules

One-Capsule Label
4.1/5

A 125 mg one-capsule format that avoids a large multi-pill serving.

Pros

  • 125 mg magnesium per capsule on listed facts
  • 180 vegetarian capsules
  • No added B6 on shown facts panel

Cons

  • Confirm the seller and current packaging
  • Less public batch information than Double Wood

The selected 180-count Cardiovascular Research bottle lists 125 mg magnesium from taurate per capsule. That is close to Double Wood’s 120 mg three-capsule serving in mineral amount, but much simpler for someone who does not want to count three pills. The listed formula has no added B6 to total against a multivitamin.

The packaging and seller deserve a check because this product also appears through practitioner and supplement retailers. Match the 180-capsule bottle and facts panel to the listing before ordering. Skip it if accessible batch-level testing is the deciding factor; Double Wood documents that more directly.

7. BulkSupplements Magnesium Taurate Powder – Powder Option

BulkSupplements Magnesium Taurate Powder 250 g

BulkSupplements Magnesium Taurate Powder 250 g

Powder Option
4.0/5

A capsule-free alternative with about 167 servings, but its manufacturer warning deserves attention before buying.

Pros

  • 150 mg magnesium per listed 1.5 g serving
  • 250 g pouch holds about 167 servings
  • No capsule shell or added B6

Cons

  • Needs careful measuring
  • Manufacturer page carries a California lead warning

The selected 250 g pouch lists 150 mg magnesium per 1.5 g serving, with about 167 servings in the bag. That is more than twice Double Wood’s 70 servings and avoids swallowing capsules. Keep the 250 g variant in view when ordering; the same listing includes 100 g, 500 g, and 1 kg sizes. A scale reading to 0.01 g makes measuring this small serving easier than estimating a spoonful.

The manufacturer’s product page carries a California Proposition 65 lead-exposure warning. It does not quantify exposure on that page, so a warning alone cannot tell you the lot’s lead level. Request a current lot report if that matters to your decision. Skip this powder if you prefer a measured capsule or want more accessible public testing information; Double Wood is the simpler starting point.

8. BulkSupplements Magnesium Taurate Capsules – Long-Supply Alternative

BulkSupplements Magnesium Taurate 1500 mg 240 Capsules

BulkSupplements Magnesium Taurate 1500 mg 240 Capsules

Long-Supply Alternative
3.9/5

A 120-serving capsule option whose missing elemental-magnesium line keeps it below the clearer labels.

Pros

  • 240 capsules make 120 servings
  • Two capsules per labeled serving
  • No added B6 in listed ingredients

Cons

  • Shown panel lists compound weight without elemental magnesium
  • Bovine gelatin shell is unsuitable for vegans

The capsule version is a different purchase from the powder above. Two capsules supply a listed 1,500 mg magnesium taurate, and the 240-count bottle holds 120 servings. Its displayed facts panel does not state elemental magnesium, so the powder’s 150 mg figure should not be carried across to these capsules. The ingredients also include rice flour and bovine gelatin.

The manufacturer page shared by the powder and capsule variants displays the lead warning discussed above. Ask for the exact capsule lot’s test report and mineral specification before comparing value per milligram. Skip this option if you need a disclosed elemental amount or a vegetarian shell; Nutricost states 120 mg and uses cellulose capsules. The large serving count is useful, but the top picks make the dose comparison easier.

9. Jarrow Magnesium Taurate – B6 Combination to Consider Carefully

Jarrow Magnesium Taurate 300 mg 90 Veggie Capsules

Jarrow Magnesium Taurate 300 mg 90 Veggie Capsules

B6 Combination
3.7/5

A higher-amount magnesium and B6 formula, with substantially more B6 than most adults need daily.

Pros

  • 300 mg magnesium stated on facts panel
  • 90 veggie capsules make 30 servings
  • No major allergens listed by manufacturer

Cons

  • Adds 20 mg vitamin B6 per serving
  • Three capsules and only a 30-serving bottle

Jarrow lists 300 mg magnesium as magnesium taurate and 20 mg vitamin B6 in three capsules. The 90-capsule bottle is a 30-serving supply, less than half Double Wood’s 70 servings. This is a combined magnesium-and-B6 formula, rather than a direct replacement for the simpler options above.

Get Fitter, Faster

Level Up Your Fitness: Join our 💪 strong community in Fitness Volt Newsletter. Get daily inspiration, expert-backed workouts, nutrition tips, the latest in strength sports, and the support you need to reach your goals. Subscribe for free!

The B6 amount deserves more attention than the front-label magnesium number. Twenty milligrams exceeds the European Food Safety Authority’s adult B6 upper limit of 12 mg per day, although the U.S. limit is 100 mg. High supplemental B6 intake can cause nerve damage over time.2 Skip Jarrow if you already take B6 in a multivitamin, pre-workout, or another supplement, or simply want magnesium without it. Double Wood and Nutricost avoid that extra vitamin.

10. KAL Magnesium Taurate+ – Best Blended-Formula Comparison

KAL Magnesium Taurate with Vitamin B6 90 Tablets

KAL Magnesium Taurate with Vitamin B6 90 Tablets

Blended Formula
3.5/5

A familiar magnesium product, but not a pure taurate recommendation.

Pros

  • Two-tablet serving clearly stated
  • 90-tablet option makes 45 servings
  • Established mineral brand

Cons

  • Magnesium includes oxide as well as taurate
  • 400 mg full serving exceeds adult supplemental upper limit and adds B6

KAL makes the list as an instructive comparison, not as the default taurate pick. The maker’s current Magnesium Taurate+ formula supplies 400 mg magnesium in two tablets and includes both magnesium taurate and magnesium oxide, along with vitamin B6 and an herbal ActiSorb blend. The selected 90-tablet Amazon variant is 45 two-tablet servings. A shopper who wants magnesium exclusively from taurate should skip it.

The full 400 mg magnesium serving exceeds the NIH adult upper limit for supplemental magnesium unless a healthcare professional recommends otherwise. It also adds 25 mg B6, above the European adult limit discussed in the Jarrow section.1, 2 This is a lower-ranked comparison for readers specifically considering KAL, rather than our everyday starting pick. Double Wood, Swanson, and Nutricost are simpler alternatives.

How to Choose Magnesium Taurate

Read the mineral line, not just the front number

Double Wood lists 1,500 mg of magnesium taurate compound but 120 mg elemental magnesium per serving. NatureBell lists 1,500 mg compound and 135 mg mineral. Swanson lists 200 mg magnesium in two tablets. Those mineral amounts are the numbers to compare. If a listing only shows compound weight, seek a current Supplement Facts panel.

Divide the bottle by the serving size

Micro Ingredients sells 240 capsules, but its four-capsule serving makes a 60-serving bottle. NatureBell’s 240 capsules make 80 servings at three capsules. Double Wood’s 210 capsules make 70 servings. A high capsule count can be good value, but only after you do that division.

Check blends and your total intake

Jarrow and KAL add vitamin B6; KAL also includes magnesium oxide. Count magnesium and B6 from every supplement you use. Higher supplemental magnesium amounts can cause diarrhea, nausea, and cramping. People with impaired kidney function and those taking medication should discuss the right product and timing with a clinician or pharmacist. Magnesium can interfere with some antibiotics and osteoporosis medicines.1 If you are still choosing a magnesium form, our magnesium citrate roundup gives a separate comparison rather than a reason to stack both.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is 1,500 mg magnesium taurate too much?

That front-label number usually describes the magnesium-taurate compound, not elemental magnesium. For example, Double Wood’s 1,500 mg compound serving supplies 120 mg magnesium. The elemental line on the exact facts panel is what you should total against other supplements.

Does magnesium taurate improve heart health or sleep?

Magnesium supports normal muscle, nerve, and cardiovascular function, but a supplement label or anecdote does not establish that a taurate product will resolve a heart symptom or improve sleep. Seek medical guidance for palpitations, persistent symptoms, or a suspected deficiency. Our guide to magnesium for muscle, sleep, and recovery explains the broader evidence.

Is magnesium taurate the same as magnesium acetyl-taurate?

No. They are different compounds. Check the exact form on the facts panel; products labeled acetyl-taurate are not interchangeable with the taurate products compared here.

Can I take magnesium taurate with another magnesium product?

Only after adding their elemental magnesium amounts and considering medications and medical conditions. The NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg per day is for magnesium from supplements and medications, not food, unless a healthcare professional directs otherwise.

Bottom Line

Double Wood Magnesium Taurate has the clearest balance of dose transparency, 70 labeled servings, and accessible batch-testing information. Swanson makes the per-tablet mineral amount simple; Nutricost has 80 servings at the same stated mineral amount as Double Wood. Choose by elemental magnesium, capsule burden, and formula rather than the largest front-label number. For the broader choice between mineral forms, see our magnesium supplements guide.

Sources

  1. National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Magnesium: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals.
  2. National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Vitamin B6: Fact Sheet for Consumers.

If you have any questions or need further clarification about this review, please leave a comment below, and Tom will get back to you as soon as possible.

Share This Article
Tom Miller, CSCS, is a Sr. Editor & Content Strategist with 10 years of experience in Powerlifting and Personal Training. As a Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist, he is dedicated to delivering informative, engaging, and reliable health and fitness content. His work has been featured on websites including the-sun.com, Well+Good, Bleacher Report, Muscle and Fitness, UpJourney, Business Insider, NewsBreak and more.